top of page

DIY: Wine Cork Tray

Hi everyone! I decided to take a little break from card making and do anther project for you. This one was actually my moms idea. She has a ton of wine corks, some she collected and the rest from my bridal shower 3 years ago. My mom wanted to use some of them up yet still display where the cork was from. So, she decided that she wanted to do a wine cork tray.


I started this post awhile ago and since then I tried to add the resin to the tray. Let's just say things did not work out as planned. I did not glue my wine corks down so they all ended up floating on top of my resin. The tray was pretty much ruined but I still wanted to share the steps for making the tray. Just make sure you glue down whatever you decide to put in your tray!!!


The following is a list of materials:

Wooden Tray any size (we bought ours off Amazon.com. It's the 15x11 size)

Wine Corks

2 Paint Colors

Base: FolkArt Acrylic Paint in Licorice

Top Coat: Martha Stewart Vintage Decor Paint in Wedding Cake

Vaseline

Resin

Paint Brush

Knife



Step 1:

Use the paint color you chose for the base and paint the entire tray. It's up to you if you want to paint the inside bottom of the tray since you wont see that. I decided to just incase some of my corks weren't pushed together enough and you could see the bottom.



Step 2 & Step 3:

Once the black paint was dry I took the vaseline and put a little around all the edges of the tray and then immediantly put one coat of the Martha Stewart Decor Paint over the entire tray.


I forgot to take a picture of just that step so you can see here where I went on to Step 3 as well and added all my corks. You can put them in any direction you like. Some of them I needed to cut in order for them to fit right.



After this was when I tried to use my resin. My husband mixed it for me and when we tried pouring it is when the disaster happened. The finished tray should have looked like this but with resin on top so you would be able to set items on it. Sorry about this one everyone!



















Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean

Name *

Email *

Subject

Message

Success! Message received.

bottom of page